Get to know Stichting Art Zuid Foundation

About Art Zuid Foundation

Stichting Art Zuid is a cultural non-profit organisation, founded in 2008 by Cintha van Heeswijck together with a number of enthusiastic local residents of Amsterdam Zuid. The foundation aims to make art accessible to everyone by organizing the Amsterdam Sculture Biennale on the boulevards of Berlage’s Plan-Zuid. The exhibition is known to the public as ARTZUID. The 9th edition is planned from May until September 2025.

The foundation works with an exhibition concept and different curators each edition. In previous editions, the selection of artists was done by leading curators such as Michiel Romeyn, Roberto Meyer, Jan Cremer, Henk van Os, Rudi Fuchs, Maarten Bertheux, Jhim Lamoree, Ralph Keuning and Jasper Krabbé.

The sculptures on display are on loan from artists, private and corporate collections, municipalities, museums and galleries. Each edition, ten young artists are commissioned to create new work, allowing them to experiment with making a large-scale work of art in public space.

With international participants such as Tony Cragg, Eduardo Chilida, KAWS, Mario Merz, Antony Gormley, Jaume Plensa, El Anatsui, and Atelier Van Lieshout in combination with young talent from Dutch academies, ARTZUID has grown into a leading international sculpture platform. According to Rudi Fuchs, ARTZUID is unique as a biennale; at least, he is not aware of any other biennale in the world that focuses exclusively on outdoor sculpture.

According to research bureau Respons, ARTZUID is the largest free art event in the Netherlands with an average of 300,000 visitors. ARTZUID is a popular cultural outing among schools, where young people learn all about art in public space. Young and old enjoy the sculptures while walking. A visitor once said: “I love coming here because at ARTZUID I never feel alone”. And that is exactly what the foundation wants to achieve: a meeting place where the sculptures act as conversation pieces, as an opportunity to have a chat and exchange experiences. The boundless dedication and commitment of our hundred community volunteers who welcome visitors to the information pavilion on Minervalaan 1 during ARTZUID is of great importance here.

In 2013, the people of Amsterdam voted ARTZUID ‘Best Neighbourhood Initiative’ for the Oranje Fonds Kroonappels. In 2011, ARTZUID was awarded the Europa Nostra Award for its educational programme. In 2011 and 2015, Her Royal Highness Princess Beatrix opened the exhibition.

Contact details

Office address:


Stichting Art Zuid

Hacquartstraat 30
1071 SJ Amsterdam

Telephone: +31 (0)20 528 60 61

KVK number:
(Chamber of Commerce)

IBAN: NL11ABNA0590068628
(ANBI) RSIN number: 8201.06.707
VAT number: NL820106707B01
Location Information Pavillion during ARTZUID 2025

Opening hours


Minervalaan 1, Amsterdam

May-September 2025

Daily: 10 am – 6.00 pm

Our Team

Organisation Cintha van Heeswijck
Project Manager Anne-Mariken Raukema
Online Marketing Lisanne Luteijn
Sponsor acquisition & partnerships Eline Dijkstra-Schouwenaar
PR & Media
Education (mail) Lotte Hardeman
Volunteer coordinator An Bastiaans


The board

President Volkert Struycken
Secretary Eline Schouwenaar
Treasurer vacant
ARTZUID Vrijwilligers

ANBI status Stichting Art Zuid

Since 2009, the Art Zuid Foundation has been an ANBI institution approved by the Dutch tax authorities.


Our mission is to create a new meeting place for all inhabitants of Amsterdam with art in public space and to make art accessible for everyone, especially the youth.

Objectives of Art Zuid Foundation

  1. To draw attention to the monumental urban heritage Plan Zuid by architect Hendrik Petrus Berlage.
  2. To promote the quality of life in Amsterdam by organising the Amsterdam Sculpture Biennial ARTZUID.
  3. Creating an encounter with art for young and old.

Jaarstukken | Activiteitenverslag | Beloningsbeleid | Beleidsplan

Advisory Board Irene Schreuder-Tjoa Willem Stevens Fred Lachotzki Alexander Strengers
Art committee Rudi Fuchs Jan Cremer Antoine Poncet Els van Odijk Paul Goede Willem Baars Bert Jansen Thea Rijkschroeff Fons Geerlings
Committee of Recommendation Henk van Os Elco Brinkman Eva van der Dussen-Rinnooy Kan Annemarie van Gaal Jan Hoekema Jan Teeuwisse Cor van Zadelhoff Roberto Payer